Avon Ratings and Reviews

Shop now at Avon
Powder or
Choose a category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Far Away Shimmering Body Powder

A seductive shimmer and beautiful way to layer the fragrance of jasmine, freesia, orange flower, and peach. 1.4 oz. net wt.
Overall rating:
4.48 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
24 of 25(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Far Away Shimmering Body Powder
Review 1 for Far Away Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always a good purchase
By JudithAnn
on November 2, 2013
About the reviewer
By JudithAnn
Location:Modesto, CA
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I get so many compliments wearing this fragrance. Layering with the powder keeps the scent from fading."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 2 for Far Away Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Very nice smell"
By Terry0
on October 21, 2013
About the reviewer
By Terry0
Location:Michigan
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I like the smell of "Far Away" and would recommend it to anyone. The powder I use only on certain parts of the body because it can irritate delicate areas. It's a nice product, but I don't use it everyday."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 3 for Far Away Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't Live Without This Powder
By ZoeyPhotography
on October 13, 2013
About the reviewer
By ZoeyPhotography
Location:Tarpon Springs, FL
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
"I have this powder by my bed to sprinkle the sheets, in a jar to use with a powder puff and kept in my car to absorb sweat when out and about. If you use your deodorant and then use your puff to set the deodorant, you will stay dry all day and smell amazing. Great for chest area as well. Florida heat is sticky and I really can't live without this wonderful powder."
+2points
2OUT OF 2people found this review helpful
Review 4 for Far Away Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Wish i didnt buy this
By Hillwa10
on September 30, 2013
About the reviewer
By Hillwa10
Location:North Carolina
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Where do i begin??... First of all, it comes in a a small 4 inch bottle, and its mostly empty...like more than half way empty. Second,its got a very very light smell that isnt even noticeable, honestly baby powder has more scent than this does.
This is supposed to be a shimmer powder, right?? But wheres the shimmer? They forgot to put some in or something. I felt like i was getting a sample and not the real product. Will not buy this again.
"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 5 for Far Away Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
clean smell
By ms5504lady
on July 15, 2013
About the reviewer
By ms5504lady
Location:houston , tx
Avon.com shopping frequency:1x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I really like this fragrant its not too heavy when you go around a lot of people. I can wear it any where even to bed."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 6 for Far Away Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the Far Away powder!!
By TheNewMrsHarris
on June 12, 2013
About the reviewer
By TheNewMrsHarris
Location:Columbia, SC
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Dark
Skin type:Oily
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"The powder smells really good and its lasts a long time. I am a heavy sweater and I find this powder helps me stay dry. I get compliments all the time!!"
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 7 for Far Away Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Smell
By Felyna
on May 21, 2013
About the reviewer
By Felyna
Location:Maryland
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I like Far away powder it leaves your skin smooth and the fragrance last longer."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 8 for Far Away Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
By TRUDES
on October 12, 2012
About the reviewer
By TRUDES
Location:LOCKPORT,N.Y.
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"SUCH A SOFT COMFORTING SMELL,RELIEVES STRESS."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 9 for Far Away Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice
By OldMainer
on April 28, 2012
About the reviewer
By OldMainer
Location:Maine
Age:55 yrs and older
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"Very nice scent. Not cakey powder at all. Like it very much."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 10 for Far Away Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
By amoondancer
on November 11, 2011
About the reviewer
By amoondancer
Location:East Coast USA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
"This lightly scented body powder has the fragrance of some of my favorite flowers... jasmine, freesia, orange blossom... otherwise known as neroli ... though Avon says this also has peach, I don't smell it... which is fine with me! The combined scent is heavenly! The shimmer factor is really subtle, and it feels like silk gliding over my skin. I keep my powders in my bathroom and they never clump up from the humidity.
Does anyone remember the Shimmering Body Powder Brush from 2005? I still have all of mine. It's so nice to be albe to refill them. Best of all, I love being able to freshen up throughout the day as I desire... it's so easy to toss one in my purse, beach bag, and keep one in my car. I wish Avon would bring them back, as well as the round powder boxes w/poufs... there's just something so elegant and luxurious about applying scented body powder with a soft brush... I think we all deserve that little bit of extra pampering!
Do yourself a favor and order your favorite scent!!
"
+3points
3OUT OF 3people found this review helpful
Review 11 for Far Away Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wonderful powders but where is the puff
By Vintageretrogirlie
on June 10, 2011
About the reviewer
By Vintageretrogirlie
Location:Fairfax, Va.
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I love all of the powders I have purchased. They all work as a lovely layering item to add to the perfumes and lotions. I love putting them on as the final touch after a long bubble bath, in Avon bubble bath of course. I sometimes even dust on some powder right before I slip on my nightgown at night to make me feel pretty and fresh. My only complaint is that I wish Avon would offer some kind of puff to apply the powders with. I have one I got years ago from a lingerie shop that is made with pink feathers and it spreads the powder beautifully but it is now coming to the end of it's life. Avon Please offer some kind of puff for purchase with the powders."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 12 for Far Away Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Faraway Line
By debykins
on February 9, 2011
About the reviewer
By debykins
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Normal
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I have tried all the faraway line except for the skin softeners. I love them all. I buy the powder 10 at a time. But I do wish they would bring the bodyspray back. I liked using it after my nightly showers. The smell stayed in my sheets. My husband loved that he could roll over on my side when I've left and still smell the scent."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 13 for Far Away Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like Candy
By mom2hkids
on October 2, 2010
About the reviewer
By mom2hkids
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I wanted to try a new fragrance, this powder smells so good I went and bought the fragrance and lotion too! It reminds me of all the things I like to smell( cotton candy, bubble gum, and baby powder with vanilla!) yum!!!"
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 14 for Far Away Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Don't like the perfume, love the powder
By EbonieJoie
on September 9, 2010
About the reviewer
By EbonieJoie
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:25-34
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"For some odd reason, I don't like the perfume, yet the powder smells different. It's like it's lighter and fresher than the fragrance."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 15 for Far Away Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PLEASANTLY SURPRISED
By Dragon6
on August 17, 2010
About the reviewer
By Dragon6
Avon.com shopping frequency:4-6 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"I wanted to steer away from the traditional scents I've ordered from Avon & I gave this powder a try. It's a soft smell which has undertones of the way Sweet Honesty used to smell ! yrs back. It's not overpowering & not too "musky". Smells clean & sweet! Also helps control the outdoorsy smell one might acquire from being out in the summer heat all day. It's a great scent for daily use if you so choose and it enhances some of my other fragrances when paired together. Will keep using as long as the scent doesn't worsen like some of Avon's other classic fragrances."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 16 for Far Away Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
not shimmery, not long lasting, but smells great!
By Anonymous
on June 29, 2009
About the reviewer
By Anonymous
Location:atl
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Oily
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
"the picture makes this powder looks very big, but it's about the size as a jumbo sized salt and pepper bottle. the smell fades with in 30 mins, and not shimmery at all. the perfume itself smells nice and sweet. that's the only reason I give it 4 stars."
0points
0OUT OF 0people found this review helpful
Review 17 for Far Away Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice alternative to foundation
By storiesofaphoenix
on March 19, 2009
About the reviewer
By storiesofaphoenix
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Avon.com shopping frequency:more than 6x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Fair
Skin type:Normal
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"I like the smell of Far Away, so when I bought the shimmering body powder I was getting the best of a couple different worlds. I sometimes use this in place of foundation. It's not really shimmery at all, but it's translucent so your own skin tone comes through but any blemishes are greatly reduced."
-1point
0OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 18 for Far Away Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this powder!
By LauraLaFlorida
on December 4, 2008
About the reviewer
By LauraLaFlorida
Location:West Florida
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:35-44
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
"My grandmother was a big fan of bathpowders. I was never one until this one.
OH, is it wonderful."
+1point
1OUT OF 1people found this review helpful
Review 19 for Far Away Shimmering Body Powder
Overall: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best smelling powder
By Madelene
on June 3, 2008
About the reviewer
By Madelene
Location:Lebanon, VA
Avon.com shopping frequency:2-3 x a year
Age:16-24
Skin tone:Medium
Skin type:Combination
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
"Considering the powders were on sell and I had began using some for the summer months when I hike I decided to take the plunge and try Avon. I got four in total from the Avon line and this was by far the best. For those of you that likes a light scent without a strong musk scent this is the one for you! It smells very lightly floral and just a tad sweet. Very pleasing. The powder itself is silky smooth with a light shimmer. It shakes out easy and last a long time. I'm going to buy another container while its on sale! This is gentle enough to use on my toddlers feet in her hot shoes!"
+6points
6OUT OF 6people found this review helpful
Ratings-only reviews for Far Away Shimmering Body Powder
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall: 
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
6 out of 6 recommend this product